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Smaato Publisher Platform (SPX) FAQ

General Questions

Why is Smaato the smartest advertising management solution?

Within the mobile display advertising market, agencies mostly interact with intermediaries such as ad networks by investing their advertising budgets into advertising on their network. The role of ad networks within the ecosystem is to aggregate and connect advertisers who want to buy advertising space with publishers who offer inventory.

Under this model, publishers are often unable to monetize their ad inventory efficiently because they are typically only integrated with one ad network. This creates a problem because single ad networks have a limited amount of advertisers, as well as specific price points and advertising formats. In addition, the ad network may only be specialized in a particular region with a national market.

As the leading global mobile RTB ad exchange and integrated Supply Side Platform, Smaato offers a solution to this significant problem. The Smaato Publisher Platform SPX directly connects publishers to nearly 400 aggregated DSPs and networks from around the world with one integration. Smaato gives publishers full control over the monetization of their inventory.

How does Smaato maximize my eCPM?

The Smaato Publisher Platform SPX features groundbreaking Dynamic Demand technology. With Dynamic Demand, direct sold, RTB, indirect, and programmatic buys all compete within the platform on an impression-by-impression basis, delivering maximum yield to the publisher. Publishers have the power to make any Line Item compete with any other while SPX ensures that all goals and targets are met. With Dynamic Demand, we're moving away from sequential ad server selection and into a world of truly universal competition.

What does Dynamic Demand mean?

Dynamic Demand is the Smaato technology enabling per-impression competition among any buying model.

What types of inventory can I monetize as a publisher?

As a publisher, you can monetize your mobile website, or areas within your App.

How much does it cost to use the Smaato Publisher Platform (SPX)?

Smaato acts as a full service provider for mobile advertising aggregation services. Revenue generated through Smaato's services is subject to a revenue share. Want to know your revenue share? See our Terms and Conditions for more information! 

My Inventory

What is an App?

An App within the Smaato Publisher Platform SPX is an actual mobile application or website with at least one Adspace.

How many Apps can I create inside SPX?

There is no limit to the number of Apps that the publisher can create inside the platform.

Am I obligated to enter detailed information about my App and/or Adspace?

Not all information fields are required to be filled out. However, the more information you can provide, the better we can optimize your traffic.

What is an Adspace?

Any space within an application that has been reserved for the display of advertising. Its dimensions and location within an application typically define an Adspace.

How many Adspaces can I create inside SPX?

There's no limit to the number of Adspaces that the publisher can create inside the platform.

What sites or apps qualify for Smaato?

The Smaato Publisher Platform SPX is open to everyone, ranging from large publishers with multiple mobile sites or applications to small start-ups, blogs, and app developers. Smaato accepts all mobile sites and apps that do not host pornographic or illegal/pirated content, as defined in our Terms and Conditions.

Why should I specify the page placement of my Adspace?

Some advertisers are looking for specific page positions for their ads. Providing more information about the Adspace location can impact the fillrate and eCPM for an impression in Real-Time Bidding ("RTB").

Which page placement should I choose if I'm not sure (i.e. my Adspace is in the footer and below the fold)?

The page placement information is passed to DSPs that are interested in it, so this is a non-technical setting. If you have two criteria that apply, choose the one that you deem more prevalent, and go with absolute over relative position (i.e. if your adspace is in the footer, just use footer, no matter if the footer is below the fold or not).

Does the Adspace dimension overwrite or substitute the dimension parameter inside the ad request?

The dimension parameter in the SPX Adspace configuration is for your organizing purposes and does not override the ad request's dimension parameter set in the SDK or Ad Tag. Please provide the dimension parameter in the ad request dynamically.

Is an Adspace limited to one dimension, or can I choose multiple dimensions?

Inside the Adspace configuration, the dimension parameter is limited to one dimension.

Can I use different IAB Categories for my App and related Adspaces?

Sure! We'll submit both to our demand partners.

What will happen if I set up an Android App and Adspace instance, but set the associated Line Item to iOS? Will this result in no fill on that Line Item?

As with the dimension parameter setting, the App Type setting is for your organizing purposes. It won't override ad request configurations from the SDK or Ad Tag, so if you associate instances and line items with different types, fill won't be affected. Your setup will be cluttered, but that's about it.

Where can I find my Publisher ID?

The Publisher ID is located in the administration area under My Account or in the summary area under Inventory.

Smaato Exchange

What is a Line Item?

The primary unit of execution for an Order, representing the purchase of specific inventory characterized with a price, priority and targeting.

What does SMX stand for?

SMX is an acronym for Smaato Market Exchange, a Smaato-owned-and-operated integrated Open RTB and Ad Network Mediation mobile ad exchange.

How many demand sources compete within Smaato Exchange Line Items for the impression?

SPX directly connects publishers to nearly 400 aggregated DSPs and networks from around the world.

What is a DSP?

A Demand Side Platform (DSP) is a type of RTB Ad Network in which agencies run ad campaigns that bid in an auction for a certain impression.

What is an Ad Network?

A network that sells advertising space for sites and apps.

What's the difference between Real-Time Bidding and Ad Network Mediation?

The SMX Line Item is a unique and profitable combination of the Smaato's RTB Exchange, connected to over 240 DSPs with the state-of-the-art RTB technology, and over 140 ad networks worldwide for increased advertising spend.

How does the minimum CPM affect my eCPM?

The minimum CPM is your lowest acceptable price per 1000 impressions of your inventory. The eCPM for each Line item will have to be above the minimum CPM. Raising the minimum CPM may improve your eCPM, but may also decrease your overall fillrate.

Why is my eCPM lower than the Line Item minimum CPM?

The minimum CPM is the guaranteed Floorprice for Smaato RTB and the recommended historical Ad Network Mediation CPM. In order to obtain a strict floor, disable Smaato Ad Network Demand for this Line Item.

Why should I disable Smaato Ad Network Demand?

If you'd like to run a Smaato RTB-only auction and omit Ad Network Mediation, you can disable Smaato Ad Network Demand per Line Item.

What impact do my Smaato Exchange Settings have on Ad Network Mediation?

The Smaato Exchange Settings won't affect Smaato Ad Network Mediation; they will solely impact the RTB demand sources

Do the Smaato Exchange Settings apply to all my SMX Line Items?

Yes, the general settings apply to all Line Items. Line Item related settings apply only to this Line Item.

Which of the values that are configurable on the SPX are actually passed into RTB?

The following configurable SPX parameters are sent into RTB: Blocked Advertiser Domains, Blocked Advertiser Categories, Floor Price, App & Adspace Category, Page Placement.

Direct

What is an Order? 

An Order in SPX is mostly synonymous to an insertion order; it represents an advertising agreement between two parties. To set up a Campaign in SPX, an Order needs to be connected to a Line Item (that acts as a connector to your inventory).

Orders can be paused, which globally pauses all connected Line Items and Creatives.

What is an Advertiser?

An Advertiser is assigned to an order and is the entity that reaches an agreement with you, the publisher, to advertise a campaign on your inventory, and to pay an agreed price or rate.

What’s the difference between Direct and House Line Items?

Direct Orders can either be run via Direct or House Ad Line Items; the key differences are Priority (Direct Line Items are by default set to 6, House Ad Line Items to 16) and price (Direct Line Items usually have a price point, while House Ads are run at no cost). Direct campaigns are sold for a set CPM and number of impressions to an agreed pricing, usually at a high Priority. House Ad campaigns are self promotional campaigns to advertise other apps at no cost, and are usually set to a low priority to serve as backfill.

What kind of Creatives can I run?

SPX offers 3 different types of Creatives: Image, Text and HTML (Rich Media)

Creatives can be paused and resumed individually.

What are SPX Macros and how do I use them?

SPX Macros dynamically pull attributes and add them into your remote Creative URLs, as well as click-through URLs, when SPX serves an ad. 

Macro List

 

Macro

Description

%%CLICK_URL_UNESC%%

Click URL (Unescaped)

%%CLICK_URL_ESC%%

Click URL (Escaped)

%%CACHEBUSTER%%

Cache Buster (Generates a random number e.g. unix timestamp in milliseconds)

%ecid!

Creative ID of the corresponding Creative

%eaid!

Line Item ID of the corresponding Creative

%esid!

Adspace ID of the requesting Adspace

%epid!

Publisher ID of the requesting Publisher

%eudid!

Unique Device ID if available (Apple IDFA, SHA1 Hashed Android ID, Google Ad ID) inside the ad request

%%TIMESTAMP%%

Request timestamp

To use SPX Macros, insert the desired Macro into your remote image URLs, click URLs, tracking URLs or HTML (Rich Media) - wherever you’d like that data to show up.

Is there a click tracking Macro for HTML Creatives?

To support click tracking for HTML Creatives, SPX provides the 2 different click tracking Macros:

 

Macro

Description

%%CLICK_URL_UNESC%%

Click URL (Unescaped)

%%CLICK_URL_ESC%%

Click URL (Escaped)

There is no universal rule to either using the Escaped or Unescaped version of the Macro; in general, please follow these guidelines:

  • if the Macro comes at the beginning of the URL sequence (most common with simple creatives, like text & image), use the unescaped Macro
  • if the Macro comes at the end of the URL sequence (most common with more elaborate creatives, like rich media) , the escaped macro should be used (escaping the URL is necessary when the tracking URL is passed as a parameter to a third-party server because unescaped reserved characters can interfere with that third-party server's parameter parsing)

What configurations enable evenly pacing?

Pacing is designed to distribute the actual number of impressions for a Line Item Evenly or As fast as possible. Delivery speed is planned based on pacing, budget and flight dates, e.g. spacing out 1000 impressions over 10 days would evenly deliver 100 impressions (max.) per day. Evenly pacing is available for daily capped impressions, or for a limited amount of total impressions with a defined end date.

My Line Item is still pending and not live!

If your Line Item is not live yet, please check the following:

  • No Inventory targeted - Check your Line Item’s Inventory targeting!

  • No Creative Added - You’ll need at least 1 Creative set up!

  • Start Date later than today - If the Start Date’s set to the future, the Line Item won’t be live yet.

My Line Item is live but not delivering / running!

If your Line Item is live but not actually delivering anything, please check the following:

  • Available Creative - Make sure that there’s no configuration conflict in the way between your available creative sizes and the requested ad size.

  • Capping - Your limit may already be reached, check your Line Item’s frequency and volume capping settings.

  • Targeting - Make sure there’s no Targeting conflict in your Line Item.

Networks

What is Smaato Ad Network Demand? And how is this different from Networks?

The Smaato Exchange consists of RTB buyers and traditional Ad Network Demand.

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 Smaato Ad Network Demand refers to the traditional Ad Network Demand Sources within the Smaato Exchange. Networks are publisher owned accounts and not part of the Smaato Exchange.

Why should I enable the reporting for my ad network?

By providing your account details, you allow Smaato to access your network's reporting numbers and better optimize your traffic to get the highest possible eCPM. At the same time, you'll only need to check one single reporting dashboard to view all your networks' performances.

How does Smaato calculate the CPM for network auto-optimization? 

If the account details are provided for your network account, Smaato collects the network's data of the last 3 days and calculates the eCPM to rate your Line Items. Importing the latest numbers happens every one or two hours.

Can I enable network reporting, but disable auto-optimization if I want to set the CPM rate myself?  

You sure can! Just enable the reporting, and enter your preferred Network CPM.

Which system counts the views and clicks that are displayed in the dashboard?

In the SPX GUI, we currently display network counted impressions & clicks. Therefore, you need to activate Revenue Reporting & CPM Auto Optimization to see network views and clicks in the SPX dashboard.

Can I use my existing network account for my SPX setup?

Yes, but your network account should be dedicated to your Smaato setup. If you've got third parties accessing your Network account, data management will get messy, and you might lose revenue.

I set up a network line item and activated 'Revenue Reporting & CPM Auto Optimization' - but for the first X days, my network does not provide any data, so there's no auto-optimization network CPM available yet! What can I do?

During this transition phase, you should enter a manual CPM rate in the network line item that you want to prioritize until revenue data is provided by the network.

Network Line Items are by default set to a lower Priority level than SMX Line Items. Is this in any way mandatory?

Not at all! For starters, we suggest prioritizing Network Line Items lower than SMX Line Items for optimized performance, but you're free to configure Priorities to fit your specific goals and needs.

Ad Operation

Where can I find an integration guide?

The latest Smaato API integration guide is available in the administration area (top right in SPX) under Smaato Integration.

How long do changes to a Line Item take to go live?  

10 Minutes.

My Line Item is in status Pending, when will it be live?

Reasons for the status Pending can be:

  • The start date is in the future
  • No inventory is specified for delivery
  • No creatives have been added to the direct line item
  • All creatives added to the direct line item are paused

How long does it take for impression data to be available in the Smaato Publisher Platform SPX?

Time delays between impression and reporting are approximately 4 hours, subject to the frequency of updates from the demand partners.

What is the average latency of an ad request on the platform?

We don't have reliable and referenced data available yet.

Which image ad dimensions are supported?

Smaato supports internationally accepted ad formats defined by the Mobile Marketing Association (MMA) or IAB (Interactive Advertising Bureau) and a large number of full screen sizes.

I'm getting a smaller ad banner dimension than I requested.

In the unlikely event that you receive an ad banner that is smaller than the size you requested, please ensure that you have set the 'dimension strict' parameter on your ad request. Please refer to our integration documents for more details on this parameter.

What kind of response do I receive from the SOMA optimization platform after submitting an ad request?

The SOMA system response for a mobile website is usually an HTML response. Depending on the requested ad format, the HTML response contains the link, text, or image tag and a tracking pixel.

For Apps, the SOMA response format can be XML or HTML - including the text, image, video, ad tag, click URL, and a tracking pixel.

For rich media, you'll receive a code snippet including the JavaScript source code or a URL, the basic image and a tracking pixel. In case of video format, you always receive a XML response containing the video URL, the link and a tracking pixel.

What kind of encoding is used by the SOMA optimization platform for a response to an ad request?

UTF-8.

What is a tracking pixel / beacon?

A beacon is a transparent 1x1 image that helps to count the view of an ad and validate traffic performance.

In what time zone are the reports displayed?

The reports are shown in GMT / UTC.

What's the difference between an ad request and an ad impression?

The ad request is the call of a site or app for an ad. The ad impression describes a successful request - loading an ad on the site or app.

What is eCPM?

The Effective Cost per Thousand impressions (eCPM) is calculated by dividing the total earnings by the total number of impressions. For example, if you earned $200.00 from 40,000 impressions, the eCPM calculation would be ($200.00 / 40,000) x 1000 resulting in an eCPM of $5.00.

Why is eCPM important to me?

eCPM is a useful reporting metric for comparing revenue generated across marketing channels and advertising networks.

Why do my reporting numbers change?

It can take about a month until all demand partners have finalized their reports. We are in a continual updating and balancing process to provide you with the latest revenue numbers.

In which currency are my earnings displayed?

All monetary values are displayed in USD (U.S. Dollars). 

Payment

What payment methods are available?

PayPal

The easiest way to receive your money. Simply enter your PayPal login email address on the Payment Information page, and we will send payments directly to this account.

  • Click on the following link to find out if PayPal is available in your country.
  • Click on the following link to sign up for PayPal.

International Wire Transfer

If PayPal is not supported in your country, select International Wire as your preferred payment method under Payment Information. Please notice the additional fee and the minimum payout.
No monthly payout below 100 USD. You will be charged with a transaction fee up to 40 USD per payout.

U.S. Wire Transfer

If your business is located in the United States, and you are prefer to use Wire Transfer, please select US Wire as your preferred payment method under Payment Information. Please notice the additional fee and the minimum payout.
No monthly payouts below 100 USD. You will be charged with a transaction fee up to 40 USD per payout.

Please contact your bank if you have further questions concerning using wire transfer with your bank account.

How can I change my payment method?

Select your preferred payment method in the administration area under Payment Information.

What is my minimum payout?

There is no minimum payout of the net revenue share for payments made through PayPal. Payments made through wire transfer shall not be made until at least 100 USD is payable to the client.

In which currency will I receive my payment?

U.S. Dollars.

Is there an additional fee for the transfer?

Please also be aware that the payments are sent in U.S. Dollars, and your bank may charge a fee for converting this to your local currency. Contact your bank for more detailed information.

What does net revenue mean?

Net revenue is the amount actually received by Smaato from third party advertisers or ad networks for delivered ads calculated per impression, click or other actions less the Smaato revenue share.

What is my revenue share?

The net revenue share for the actual month is based on the ad impressions of the previous month. Upon joining Smaato, your net revenue share is set to the default rate of 70/30. Please refer to our Terms and Conditions or contact your account manager for more details.

What is my payout?

Your payout, or payment, is the amount of gross revenue your account achieved during a month less the Smaato share, and less any taxes Smaato may be legally required to withhold.

When do I get the money? The Smaato payment schedule.

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Smaato follows a 60-day payment schedule. Smaato will pay you your net revenue share within sixty days after the end of the calendar month in which revenue was accrued.

For example, if you earned $60 in January, the payment will be sent to you in early/mid April.

It can take about a month until all our partner ad networks have finalized their reports. After this time, Smaato will provide you with a payment report under My Account/Credit Notes. During the following month, Smaato collects the revenue from our partner ad networks, and pays your net revenue share.

How often will I receive payments?

Smaato pays you every month after the payment schedule. If your earnings are below the minimum payout, we will carry the earnings over to the following month.

Can I see my payment history?

Select your preferred payment history in the administration area under Payment History.

Troubleshooting

I'm receiving error code 42.

The message "no ads available" means that for this specific request (e.g. combination of device/location/category), there is currently no ad available.

I'm receiving error code 84.

Please check all the required parameters. One or more of the mandatory parameters are missing in your request.

I've integrated the Smaato SDK, but I'm getting the error code 106.

This may be due to one of the reasons below:

  • The Publisher ID and the Adspace ID do not belong to the same account. Check if you used your personal Publisher ID and the correct Adspace ID.
  • The Adspace ID might have been blocked by you for Smaato Demand. Enable Smaato Demand again or enable different demand sources.

I've integrated the code snippet into my site, but I'm not getting any test ad.

Please check the following:

  • Make sure you copied and pasted the entire code snippet.
  • Check the configuration options within the code. Consult all comments and set the options as desired.
  • Verify that your Publisher ID and Adspace ID are correct. 
  • Verify that at lease one Line Item for the given traffic is active.

My integration works, but I'm not getting any ads.

Please check the following:

  • Do you have an active Line Item including your requesting Adspace?
  • Does your Line Item targeting match the incoming ad request?

What browsers are supported and recommended for SPX?

Smaato recommends the latest versions of the web browser Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome or Safari.

I'm using an old Internet Explorer and can't sign up to SPX. What's wrong?

SPX does not support Internet Explorer 9.0 or older. Please choose one of the recommended browsers or upgrade your browser.

How can I reach out for SPX support?

Please contact us at our dedicated SPX support account: spxsupport@smaato.com.


Legacy Smaato Portal FAQ

Basic Questions

What is Smaato?

Smaato is the leading global mobile RTB ad exchange (SMX) helping mobile app developers and publishers increase ad revenues worldwide.

What are the benefits for publishers and developers?

  • Connected to almost 400 demand sources
  • Optimized eCPM, based on real time revenue forecasts
  • Dynamic campaign selection
  • Automated data collection across networks
  • Experienced ad operations management
  • Free sophisticated mobile analytics
  • 1 technical integration

How do I join Smaato?

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Please sign up for our new Smaato Publisher Platform (SPX) at http://spx.smaato.com from now on. For documentation on SPX, head here

What is the minimum amount for payment?

The credit notes are subject to the minimum amount of one (1) USD, provided that no credit notes will be produced for amount less than one (1) USD. Further, for wire transfer, the Payment of the Net Revenue Share shall not be made until at least US$100 is payable to Client. For Paypal the US$100 threshold amount does not apply.

In what currency are the earnings displayed?

The earnings are displayed in US Dollar.

What are earnings?

Earnings are the revenues you made with mobile advertisements. Earnings are made by displaying ads (CPM) or by receiving clicks on ads (CPC). Smaato serves both kinds of ads although the weighting of these ad types may vary per country.

How do I get paid?

Publishers can choose between receiving their monthly earnings by Paypal or Bank wire transfer.

Can I change my payment method?

You can change the payment method at any time by logging in to your account → Payment Information.

When do I get paid?

Payment is normally made 60 days after the end of your first calendar month of working with Smaato. However, this payment may take longer if Smaato has not received all of the payments from the ad networks which displayed ads into your app or mobile website.

First Steps

What sites or apps qualify for Smaato?

Smaato Network is open to everyone ranging from large publishers with multiple mobile sites to small start-ups, blogs and app developers. For more information please review our Publisher Content Guidelines.

What criteria does my site or app need to pass in order to get added to the Smaato Network?

You will need to meet the following criteria before submitting your site or app online for approval: You will need a site or app in order to join the Smaato Network. As described in our Terms & Conditions, we can only accept applications from persons over the age of 18. Your site or app will need to comply with our Publisher Content Guidelines. Smaato reviews all sites and apps submitted online.

Does my site or app need to be in English?

Smaato currently supports publishers with sites or apps that can display the ISO 8859-1 character set. ISO 8859-1 is used to represent most languages throughout the Americas, Western Europe, Asia, Oceania and Africa.

Does Smaato review all publisher sites and apps?

The Smaato team reviews all sites and apps submitted by publishers before adding them to the Smaato network.

How do I display ads on my site or app?

Once you added your site or app, we will automatically generate ad codes for you for every ad slot you have defined.

Just copy and paste the ad code into the relevant area of your site or app.

You will be able to access this ad code by following the steps below:

  • Login
  • Install Tools
  • Copy the code for integration

How many adspaceIDs can I create?

You can create up to 5 adspace IDs. Each adspace ID can support different ad formats and have different targeting information. If you need more adspace ID’s just contact the Smaato Support team: support(at)smaato.com.

How do I get started?

Check out our 'Getting Started' page. This quick start guide is designed to help you get up and running in no time!

How does Smaato maximize my eCPM?

The key competence of Smaato's optimization platform is to provide a technology that automatically routes the ad request to the highest paying ad network for a given ad unit, based on historic performance for a given targeting set. By analyzing the ad request, enriching it with relevant targeting information, and matching it with the best targeted advertising source available, yield optimizers are able to improve the price on a continuous basis while serving the most relevant ads.

How much does it cost to use the Smaato publisher portal?

Smaato acts as a full service provider for mobile advertising aggregation services. Revenues generated through Smaato's services are subject to a revenue share. Want to know your revenue share? See our Terms and Conditions for more information!

Why is Smaato the smartest advertising management solution?

Within the mobile display advertising market, agencies mostly interact with intermediaries such as ad networks by investing their advertising budgets into advertising on their network. The role of ad networks within the ecosystem is to aggregate and connect advertisers who want to buy advertising space with publishers who offer inventory. Under this model, publishers are often unable to monetize their ad inventory efficiently because they are typically only integrated with one ad network. This creates a problem because single ad networks have a limited amount of advertisers, as well as specific price points and advertising formats. In addition, the ad network may only be specialized in a particular region with a national market. Smaato offers a solution to this significant problem by optimizing the advertising distribution among ad networks and publishers, in order to maximize advertising yields for the publisher.

What types of inventory can I monetize as a publisher?

As a publisher you can monetize your mobile website, or areas within your app.

What is an Adspace?

An Adspace is the area on a mobile website or within an app that is reserved for an ad. An app or mobile website may contain more than one Adspace. For more information, please see our Publisher Content Guidelines.

How many Adspaces can I use?

Upon registration, you'll have five (5) Adspaces at your disposal. If you need additional adspaces, please contact us using the support form.

Do I have to enter detailed information about my app/mobile site?

Not all information fields are required to be filled out. However the more information you can provide, the better we can optimize your traffic. Information such as usage details, user demographics, screenshots, and media kits make your inventory more valuable, which will encourage advertisers to advertise across your app or site.

How can I add a mobile website to my account?

  • Generate an Adspace and select the type Mobile Website.
  • Go to Downloads to generate a JSP/PHP code snippet, or an Ad Tag, and simply copy & paste it into the site's source code. Every generated code snippet or ad tag is associated with one of your Adspaces. Every mobile site must pass an obligatory integration test. This test provides immediate feedback on your ad request to ensure the integration is done properly. Visit your site with a mobile handset and check the Smaato test banner. A red banner indicates an error. Click on the banner for detailed information and a proposal for solution. If you see a green banner you have successfully passed the integration test.
  • Edit your Adspace details and make sure you entered all information properly. Our Smaato support team will review the information you provided for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.
  • Click on the Notify Smaato button under My Adspaces to notify the Smaato support team that your adspace is ready for verification. The Smaato support team will check for compliance with the Publisher Content Guidelines as well as check for overall quality of the content.
  • After a successful verification your Adspace will change to Live status where it will begin receiving live ads and generating revenue.

How can I add an app to my account?

  • Generate an Adspace and select the type App next to your target platform.
  • Go to Downloads and download the appropriate SDK for your platform. Use your Publisher ID / Adspace ID combination to integrate our SDK with your app.
  • Upload your app into the appropriate app store/market and get a working download URL.
  • Edit your Adspace details again and make sure you entered all information properly. It is very important that you provide a valid and working download URL of your application. Our Smaato support team will review the information you provided for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.
  • Click on the Notify Smaato button under My Adspaces to notify the Smaato support team that your application is ready for verification. The Smaato support team will download your application from the given download URL to check for compliance with the Publisher Content Guidelines as well as check for overall quality of the content.
  • After a successful verification your Adspace will change to Live status where it will begin receiving live ads and generating revenue. In addition, your Reporting & Analytics dashboard will be completely unlocked. 

Can I edit my Adspace details afterwards?

You can edit all Adspace details afterwards except the type (website or app) and the Adspace ID.

Technical Integration

Where can I find an integration guide?

The latest Smaato API integration guide is available here under Downloads > Files & Documents.

Which image ad formats are supported?

Smaato supports internationally accepted ad formats defined by the Mobile Marketing Association (MMA):

320 x 50 (MMA XXLarge)

300 x 50 (MMA XLarge)

216 x 36 (MMA Large)

168 x 28 (MMA Medium)

120 x 20 (MMA Small)

... and standardized units of the Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB):

300 x 250 (IAB Medium Rectangle)

728 x 90 (IAB Leaderboard)

120 x 600 (IAB Skyscraper)

... and standardized full screen ad units for smartphones and tablets:

320 x 480 (Full Screen Smartphone - Portrait)

480 x 320 (Full Screen Smartphone - Landscape)

640 x 960 (Full Screen #1 Tablet - Portrait)

960 x 640 (Full Screen #1 Tablet - Landscape)

640 x 1136 (Full Screen #2 Tablet - Portrait)

1136 x 640 (Full Screen #2 Tablet - Landscape)

768 x 1024 (Full Screen #3 Tablet - Portrait)

1024 x 768 (Full Screen #3 Tablet - Landscape)

800 x 1280 (Full Screen #4 Tablet - Portrait)

1280 x 800 (Full Screen #4 Tablet - Landscape)

You can request these full screen ad units using the width & height parameter.

I get smaller ad banner sizes than requested.

In the unlikely event that our ad network partners are unable to deliver the requested banner size, we will send you the next largest size instead.

My mobile site has been approved and my status changed to LIVE, but I still don't receive live ads.

Please check your site from a mobile device to see if you see a green banner with the message Done: Click to Finish. If you see this banner, please click on it and follow the instructions to complete the integration process. After this is complete, you will begin receiving live ads.

I integrated the Smaato SDK and now my app crashes.

If your app keeps crashing and you think that the issue is caused by the Smaato SDK, please contact our support team and provide us with a crash log or stack trace. We will work with you to find a solution.

What kind of response do I receive back from the SOMA optimization platform after submitting an ad request?

The SOMA system response for a mobile website is usually an HTML response. Depending on the requested ad format the html response contains the link, text, or image tag and a tracking pixel.

For apps the SOMA response format can be XML or HTML - including the text, image, video, ad tag, click URL, and a tracking pixel.

In case of a rich media format you receive a code snippet including the java script source code or an URL, the basic image and a tracking pixel.

In case of video format you always receive a XML response containing the video URL, the link and a tracking pixel.

What kind of encoding is used by the SOMA optimization platform for a response to an ad request?

UTF-8.

What is a tracking pixel / beacon?

A beacon is a transparent 1x1 image which helps to count the view of an ad and validate traffic performance.

I'm receiving error code 42.

The message no ads available means that for this specific request (e.g. combination of device/location/category) there is currently no ad available.

I'm receiving error code 84.

Please check all the required parameters. One or more of the mandatory parameters are missing in your request.

I've integrated the Smaato SDK, but I'm getting the error code 106.

This may be due to one of the reasons below:

  • The Publisher Id and the Adspace ID do not belong to the same account. Check if you used your personal Publisher ID and the correct Adspace ID.
  • The Adspace has occasionally been deleted by you. Check if it is still listed in the publisher portal overview.
  • The Adspace ID might have been blocked by our Smaato support team because your site or app does not comply with our Terms and Conditions.

I have integrated the code snippet into my site, but no test ad appears.

Please check the following:

  • Make sure you copied and pasted the entire code snippet.
  • Check the configuration options within the code. Consult all comments and set the options as desired.
  • Verify that your Publisher ID and Adspace ID are correct.

Reporting

What reporting and analytics tools does Smaato provide?

Our reporting area provides every user a comprehensive overview of all relevant performance data. In the revenue area you are able to review all the important numbers such as ad requests, clicks, CTR, eCPC, and eCPM. In addition, you can compare two metrics. For example, you can compare clicks vs. eCPM over a customizable time frame for each Adspace. Furthermore, you can see detailed breakdowns per day, per country, and per Smaato partner ad network. Extensive analysis of your audience is also accessible under User Analytics, where you can generate individual demographic reports for unique users based on e.g. age and gender.

Can I download my reports?

The revenue and geo reporting data is available for download as an excel file.

In what time zone are the reports displayed?

The reports are shown in GMT.

What's the difference between an ad request and an ad impression?

An ad request is a call made from your Adspace (within your mobile site or app) to the Smaato advertising platform to get an ad. The request is triggered by either the SDK, the code snippet, or the ad tag, depending on your settings. The request does not automatically end up in a displayed banner/ad impression on the mobile device. As such, an impression represents an ad that was displayed on your site or app to an end user. The ratio of impressions served to ads requested is called the fill rate.

What is eCPM?

The Effective Cost per Thousand impressions (eCPM) is calculated by dividing the total earnings by the total number of impressions. For example, if you earned $200.00 from 40,000 impressions, the eCPM calculation would be ($200.00 / 40,000) x 1000 resulting in an eCPM of $5.00.

Why is eCPM important to me?

eCPM is a useful reporting metric for comparing revenue generated across marketing channels and advertising networks.

Why are there discrepancies between Served Ads and Impressions?

A positive response from the Smaato advertising optimization platform usually ends up in a served ad. A served ad typically implies a banner impression on the device. In reality, the number of impressions is a bit lower than the number of served ads. One reason for this may be that the end user stopped the application before the banner was fully loaded. Thus the number of served ads and impressions can vary.

Why do my reporting numbers change?

It can take about a month until all of our partner ad networks have finalized their reports. We are in a continuing updating and balancing process to provide you with the latest revenue numbers.

In which currency are my earnings displayed?

All values of money are displayed in U.S. Dollars.

Payment

What payment methods are available?

PayPal
The easiest way to receive your money. Simply enter your PayPal login email address on the payment information page, and we will send payments directly to this account.
Click on the following link to find out if PayPal is available in your country.
Click on the following link to sign up for PayPal. 

International Wire Transfer
If PayPal is not supported in your country, select International Wire as your preferred payment method under Payment Information. Please notice the additional fee and the minimum payout. 
No monthly payout below 100 USD. You will be charged with a transaction fee up to 40 USD per payout. 

US Wire Transfer
If your business is located in the United States, and you are prefer to use Wire Transfer, please select US Wire as your preferred payment method under Payment Information. Please notice the additional fee and the minimum payout. 
No monthly payouts below 100 USD. You will be charged with a transaction fee up to 40 USD per payout. 

Please contact your bank if you have further questions concerning using wire transfer with your bank account. 

How can I change my payment method?

Select your preferred payment method under My Account → Payment Information.

What is my minimum payout?

There is no minimum payout of the net revenue share for payments made through PayPal. Payments made through wire transfer shall not be made until at least 100 USD is payable to the client.

In which currency will I receive my payment?

U.S. Dollar.

Is there an additional fee for the transfer?

Please also be aware that the payments are sent in U.S. Dollars, and your bank may charge a fee for converting this to your local currency. Contact your bank for more detailed information.

What does net revenue mean?

Net revenue is the amount actually received by Smaato from third party advertisers or ad networks for delivered ads calculated per impression, click or other actions less the Smaato revenue share.

What is my revenue share?

The net revenue share for the actual month is based on the ad impressions of the previous month. Upon joining Smaato, your net revenue share is set to the default rate of 70/30. For more details check our terms and conditions.

What is my payout?

Your payout, or payment, is the amount of gross revenue your account achieved during a month less the Smaato share, and less any taxes Smaato may be legally required to withhold.

When do I get the money? The Smaato payment schedule:

Smaato follows a 60 day payment schedule. Smaato will pay you your net revenue share within sixty days after the end of the calendar month in which revenue was accrued.

For example, if you earned $60 in January the payment will be sent to you in early – mid April.

It can take about a month until all our partner ad networks have finalized their reports. After this time, Smaato will provide you with a payment report under 'My Account' – 'Credit Notes'. During the following month Smaato collects the revenue from our partner ad networks, and pays your net revenue share.

How often will I receive payments?

Smaato pays you every month after the payment schedule. If your earnings are below the minimum payout, we will carry the earnings over to the following month.

I have Adspaces in status 'Live' and they are generating revenue, but I don't get paid.

  • Please check your payment information page. We need your complete and valid payment details. Select a payment option and make sure all required information is provided. 
  • Please check the Smaato payment schedule. 
  • Please check your net revenue share and your minimum payout in case you selected wire transfer for payment.

Can I see my account history?

You can see your historical credit notes under My Account → Credit Notes

Can't find the answer you need?

Contact the Smaato support team at support@smaato.com.


Demand Partners/DSP Portal FAQ

How Can I integrate with Smaato?

If you're an Ad NetworkContact Us!

If you're a DSP: Test your integration on our DSP Portal - you'll find further instructions there.

What is Smaato's timeout setting?

300 ms.

Where are Smaato's servers based?

Virginia, US / Oregon, US / Ireland / Singapore. 

Why can't I ping Smaato's servers?

We're behind a load balancer which disables pinging. We can however ping you to test server latency if you provide us your bidding URL. 

What's the standard Bid Response size limit?

6144 bytes. Reach out to your account manager if you'd need the limit to be increased.


 

Glossary

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